Non Owner Auto Insurance Quotes

Home States Michigan

Michigan Non Owner SR22 Insurance

Michigan has many drivers who need to file non-owner SR22 insurance but don't know which companies offer the policy. We work with the best auto insurance companies in Michigan to help drivers find all types of auto insurance including the specific type where you don't own a car and need to file an SR22 form with the state. This type of policy is simply just a liability only policy that is not specific to any one car rather any car that the person may drive. The key is that you must not own a vehicle to be able to have this type of insurance.

Finding the cheapest non-owner SR22 policy in Michigan is easy if you use our free online tool. Simply just enter your zip code in the box above then click get quotes to start the process. Once you have compared rates from two to three companies you can make an informed decision and get your SR22 filed the same day. This will get you back on the road faster and fully legal.

Michigan SR22 Insurance Requirements

Michigan Department of Motor Vehicles requires drivers who need to file SR22 insurance carry the following liability limits:

Bodily Injury Per Person Bodily Injury Per Occurrence Property Damage
$20,000 $40,000 $10,000

When you purchase non-owner SR22 insurance the company will notify the state electronically that you now have valid auto insurance with the SR22 certificate. Keep in mind that any time the policy is cancelled either by you or the company that the state will be notified and your license will likely be suspended. It is very important to maintain the SR22 filing until your probation period is complete which can be referenced on your court paperwork.

How much is non-owner SR22 insurance in Michigan?

The cost of auto insurance in Michigan seems to increase each year because too many people drive without insurance. It is estimated that over 25% of the people on the road are not insured in Michigan. This means that those that follow the law are paying higher prices to compensate for those that don't. We try to help you find the most affordable non-owner SR22 insurance available in Michigan by comparing rates from the best companies.

Compare SR22 Insurance Rates:  

There is a fee to file the SR22 and most companies charge $25 but it can be higher depending on the company and the case. The fee helps insurance companies pay for the constant monitoring of your policy to make sure the state is notified of any changes during the probation period.

SR22 Insurance FAQs

Can I get SR22 Insurance without a vehicle?

Yes, in fact this can often be the most cost effective way to get SR-22 insurance. If you don't own a vehicle you can ask for a non owner auto insurance policy which is explained below. 

What is an SR22 filing?

SR22 Auto Insurance is simply proof of liability insurance for the state. This certificate proves that the driver carries liability insurance that meets the state minimum requirement. The SR-22 form is submitted to the state from the insurance company and they will notify if the policy is cancelled.

How long do I need an SR22?

Many states require you to carry an SR22 from 3 to 5 years depending the type of violation. If you cancel the SR22 during the probation period you will need to start over.

What is a non-owner auto insurance policy?

If you don't own a vehicle and still need to carry liability insurance you can start a non-owner policy. Many drivers who need to file an SR22 form don't have a vehicle so they would need a non-owner SR22 insurance policy. This policy allows you to drive any car with at least state minimum liability limits.